Carla Huhtanen & Cecilia String Quartet, machine think love

machines think love

machines think love

Doors at 6:30 PM | Concert at 7:00 PM

TICKETS | $25/$10 (regular/student) General Admission Seating. All ages welcome.

Rachel Iwaasa, piano
Mark McGregor, flute
Carla Huhtanen, soprano
Cecilia String Quartet

An unexpected programme inspired by Alan Turing, love, machines, and opera.  In this remarkable concert, a coterie of virtuoso musicians perform world premieres of works by Rodney Sharman and Michael Oesterle.

The inspiration for Sharman’s audacious Opera Transcriptions is both scientific and musical, and stretches the physical limitations of piano and pianist.

Oesterle’s Delilah and therefore are rooted in the work of mathematician Alan Turing and his search for humanity within patterns and systems, while his Sweat and Mirror notwithstanding takes a text by Samuel Beckett as the basis for a fluent examination of the edge of sonic experience.

And love? That’s in the brilliant performances offered by some of Canada’s finest musicians: pianist Rachel Kiyo Iwaasa, flautist Mark Takeshi McGregor, soprano Carla Huhtanen, and the Cecilia String Quartet.  Their extraordinary performances explore the limits of human and machine possibility, creating a stunning interplay between systems and creativity.

The 2014 Modulus Festival is generously sponsored by Bryan Price.


Rodney Sharman (born 1958)
   Three Opera Transcriptions for piano
      -Mercurio dal ciel in terra (L’incoronazione di Poppea) (2008)
      -Tristan and Isolde (2013)
      -Kopernikus (2014) World Premiere*

Michael Oesterle (born 1968)
  Delilah for solo flute (2014) World Premiere**
  therefore for voice solo (2014) World Premiere***
  Sweat and Mirror notwithstanding – seven variations on a text by Samuel Beckett for voice and string quartet (2003 revised 2014)

*Commissioned by Rachel Iwaasa with financial support from the Canada Council for the Arts
**Commissioned by Mark Takeshi McGregor with financial support from the Canada Council for the Arts
***Commissioned by Daniel Cooper for Carla Huhtanen