Australian String Quartet

Australian String Quartet (ASQ)

Australian String Quartet (ASQ)

ANNEX | 823 SEYMOUR STREET | Google map
Doors at 7:00 PM | Concert starts at 8:00 PM

Australian String Quartet (ASQ)

Dale Barltrop, violin
Francesca Hiew, violin
Stephen King, viola
Sharon Grigoryan, cello

TICKETS | $39/$15 (regular/student) General admission seating. All ages welcome. Available as part of a Pick-3 Ticket Pack or Pick-6 Ticket Pack.

…the ASQ are masters of both the calm and the storm.

Angus McPherson, Limelight Magazine

For over 30 years, this internationally acclaimed quartet has been creating unforgettable performances around the globe. Dedicated to musical excellence with a distinctly Australian character, their sound creates chemistry and amplifies intimacy, connecting audiences with moving, evocative music.

The quartet is comprised of Francesca Hiew, Stephen King, Sharon Grigoryan, and former Vancouver Symphony Orchestra concertmaster Dale Barltrop – marking his return to the Vancouver stage.

This concert will be a tasting menu of quartet gems, from Ravel, Schubert and Mendelssohn to contemporary Australian works, Benjamin Britten, Phillip Glass and a brand new commission from American composer, Alexandra T Bryant, taking the audience on a journey through some of the ASQ’s favourite works.



Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
String Quartet in F major (1903)
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
String Quartet No. 1 in D major (1941)
II. Allegretto con slancio
Peter Sculthorpe (1929-2014)
String Quartet No. 11: Jabiru Dreaming (1990)
I. Deciso
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
String Quartet No. 14 in D minor: Death and the Maiden (1824)
II. Andante con moto
Paul Stanhope (born 1969)
String Quartet No. 2 (2009)
Alexandra T. Bryant
The Ground Beneath Her Feet (2017)
Philip Glass (born 1937)
String Quartet No. 3: Mishima (1985)
VI. Mishima/Closing
Felix Mendelssohn (1803-1847)
String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80 (1847)
I. Allegro vivace assai