Stefan Prins wins 2014 ISCM Young Composers Award, supported by Music on Main

The winner of the 2014 ISCM Young Composer Award (supported by Music on Main) has been announced. The winner, who will receive a commission for a new work to be performed at a future International Society for Contemporary Music festival, was Stefan Prins (Flanders) for his work “Piano Hero #1.” The jury, composed of Tomoko Fukui (Japan), Javier Hagen (Switzerland), and Eva Lopszyc (Argentina), with Stephen Lias (USA) as the jury coordinator, found the piece for midi-keyboard, live-electronics & video to be “both eloquent and unpredictable.”

Honourable mentions (in alphabetical order) go to:
Hannes Dufek
Yair Klartag
Dmitry Timofeev

Music on Main has supported the ISCM Young Composer Award since 2013 when it was won by Yasunoshin Morita (Japan).